GUEST BLOGGER: Graduate Student Transition using Theory

Leave a comment

June 21, 2013 by npgskc

What follows is a blog post from Opal Albrecht, a contributing author to this NPGS KC website.  Expect to see more posts from Opal and other contributing authors in the future!

It’s that time of year again. Whether transitioning in or out, we are all experiencing a variety of emotions ranging from pure excitement to utter apprehension. And although I still have one more year left at the wonderful Kansas State University, I can’t help but think that it soon will be me walking across the stage at graduation. Another year from now and the preoccupation with transition will begin again. By sharing my story and utilizing valuable research within the field, I hope that others will learn how to better cope with challenges and celebrate the successes during times of transition.

Nancy Schlossberg’s transition theory can be easily applied to a graduate student’s transition experience. Schlossberg’s theory originated as an adult development theory, but has since been characterized as one that is also relevant to traditionally-aged college students. Over the years, Schlossberg and colleagues have strived to enhance the research on transition and share strategies on how to best navigate through transitions (Evans, Forney, Guido, Patton, & Renn, 2010).

Goodman, Anderson, and Schlossberg (2006) define a transition as “any event or non-event that results in changed relationships, routines, assumptions, and roles” (p.33). Now apply this to the experience of a graduate student. Many of us embark on a journey the furthest from home we’ve ever been-away from friends, partners, and family. We begin a new job, are in class full-time, and live in a place we know very little about. We attempt to balance the new roles we are granted as student, employee, supervisor, and so on, all while attempting to maintain our role as a friend, spouse, parent, or partner. All of this can be overwhelming. Therefore, whether you are currently in a transition or preparing for an inevitable one in the future, there are some words of advice and research that is worth sharing.

According to Schlossberg’s transition theory there are four categories of factors that most influence and determine a person’s ability to cope with a transition: situation, self, support and strategies (Evans et al., 2010). By presenting my story by using the 4 S’s of Schlossberg’s theory, I hope to exemplify theory to practice application as well as provide comfort to those in transition.

Situation – I was prepared to experience difficulty with my transition. It didn’t fully set in until I started classes, about two months after I moved to Kansas. At that time, I reflected back on my transition into my freshman year of college. I contemplated withdrawing from the university several times. Graduate school was different, but the feelings of anxiety and uncertainty were the same. I utilized the lessons I learned from my first college transition as motivation to seek help, take responsibility for my own transition, and gain control.

Self – Understanding the implications of personal and demographic characteristics are vital when coping with transition. I knew that psychological resources had provided me with positive outcomes in the past, and therefore I took advantage of those opportunities. Focusing on the positive experiences and relationships that have occurred because of the transition was also beneficial. Being able to contemplate that the struggle would lead to a stronger self, and would increase my ability to relate with other students who find challenge in transition was encouraging.

Support – In my opinion, support is one of the most influential components of successful transitioning. Building new and strong relationships will allow you to share your thoughts and feelings with others, who may very well be experiencing similar things.  Discovering communities, specifically outside of work and school, can be inadvertently therapeutic. And lastly, maintaining long-distance relationships with those that know you best can be very influential in the coping process.

Strategies – Suggested strategies include modifying the situation, controlling the meaning, and managing stress. Demonstrating flexibility and willingness to utilize these strategies can lead to a better outcome (Evans et al., 2010). Throughout my transition my thoughts would become self-defeating and negative. I had convinced myself that the struggles I was experiencing were permanent, and that there was no way to control them.  Once I realized the impact these thoughts were having on my own happiness. I began to focus on improving my well-being by volunteering in the community, attending more social functions, and concentrating on the positive relationships in my life. I remained busy to avoid having time to engage in negative thinking and encourage stressful instances. I viewed the transition as a life-changing learning experience instead of a devastating one.

It is only a matter of time before life introduces another transitional moment. And as an aspiring student affairs professional, there is no doubt that I will interact with students and colleagues in transition. Applying theory to practice and reflecting on one’s own experiences can be very beneficial when coping or supporting others through transition. One last important piece of advice is to remember that a person’s perception of a transition is essential when considering his or her experience with transition. I know the next time I am in the midst of transition, I will undeniably look back on similar experiences and be grateful for all the struggles and successes that accompanied it.  These transitions have been crucial to my development as a student, professional, and person.

References

Goodman, J., Schlossberg, N. K., & Anderson, M. L. (2006). Counseling adults in transition: Linking practice with theory. (3rd ed.). New York: Springer Publishing Company

Evans, N. J., Forney, D. S., Guido, F. M., Patton, L. D., & Renn, K. A. (2010). Student development in college: Theory, research, and practice. (2nd ed.). San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass

Opal Albrecht / Kansas State University / Graduate Student 

Leave a comment

Post Archive

Categories

... join the group and engage in conversation with other new professionals and graduate students!

Regions

What region are you in?